Five things at 25

As I sit here on my last day as a 25-year old, I continue to think where my life has really gone. Yes, I’m sitting in the same ole town surrounded by the same old buildings, same ole same ole. I have a different job, in fact a career as a writer and I’m happy for it.

I don’t feel any colossal change, but I do feel like I’m changing. Both physically and mentally. I have also been listening to a lot of David Bowie for the last week and as you listen to Billy rapping about his suicide and how all will change by the time you’re 25, you can see that the only thing that can change is you and you change your surroundings.

And as we think about how everyone is telling us we are juvenile delinquent wrecks for not living up to our full potential here are five things I have learned at 25.

1. Nothing is the same five years ago. It may sound cliché, but it is in no manner of speaking, the truth. In the last five years, I graduated with a bachelor’s degree, started my graduate work, had four jobs and moved three times. Twenty to twenty-five is the years of trying out and making mistakes. No, I don’t know exactly where I want to continue in life yet. I feel if I should, but I’ve never been the one to make definite plans. Life is life and not to sound over dramatic, you do only live once. No one has to have the right plans, because it all can change. Change is part of life and change is good, it makes us stronger.

2. With that change, one has to realize your friends will change. I’ve had my same best friend for over 12 years. She is one of the closest people I have in my life and we do live far away from each other, but we have made it work. There have been times when we have had rough patches, but we have never strayed. People have said you don’t have the same friends as you did in high school and I am glad to have proved them wrong. I don’t keep a lot of people close to me because I know there are changes that are going to be made in my life. Nothing is ever for certain.

3. Life is not over, there is still time to fulfill your dreams. I’ve had the same dream since I’ve been 16. I want a “Gilmore Girls” style inn/restaurant and I still want to pursue that dream. I’ve had to work to remember that dream can still be realized just with hard work.

4. Having “it all” isn’t important. I had always thought to be anything you need to be successful. Well, I may be successful on a local level, but it is minimal. The successes I have are my own personal accomplishments. Through life I have learned that we can be who we want, where we want, when we want. One has to realize that the small successes are just as important as the life-changing ones.

5. Keep going. There is so much talk of quarter-life crises, and yes there is no telling if it will or will not happen. But you should know that just to keep going, you will get through it and you will come out on top. I had mine and it was hard just to realize there was an end. Now I am working through my master’s degree and planning for a future that is yet to be determined. It is all very exciting and I can’t wait to see where everything goes and who I can meet along the way.

All the best and thanks for reading!

Nicole W., peace, love and *listen to more Bowie* 🙂

Leave a Reply

