One more day…

IMG_2371

I am one day away from graduating with my master’s degree from Tiffin University. It has been a long, long, long, long journey. I don’t want to say the typical graduation wishes, I just am happy to be done with this step of my life and to get moving forward with what is next.

What is next? I don’t really know, but I do have an idea of where I would love to end up. I have always done things in a not-so-usual way. Ever since I hit that certain stage of life (during middle school, a-hem puberty), I have just never felt as I belonged anywhere with anyone. Knowing me, you’ll realize that hasn’t changed now and there were certain circumstances I would love to come out with some distant day in the future that will help you other stand. But doing and finishing this degree has been a personal determination that I have had and now that it is done. I feel a little empty, although I am really excited that it is done. This empty feeling isn’t bad or negative it is a feeling that I like to keep filled so now I am in search of what to fill that with next.

I completed my bachelor’s degree to show a certain someone that I could do it and that I can amount to be something other than what they thought I would be. This degree was all for me. I did it not because someone told me it was the right thing to do, but for me to know 1.) I can do what ever I put my mind to and 2.) to put a little more power behind me.

I’m going to turn this narrative toward my sister. Me and my sister have had a long journey together as well. Saying that when we were younger that we didn’t like each other was putting it mildly. In fact, I don’t think we really knew one another existed until it was almost too late. But like any other relationship we had to work hard and now we are the best of friends. She too is graduating high school and we are going to have our graduation parties together. Cheesy I know, but I wouldn’t want it any other way. I love her and owe a lot of my happiness during this time to her. I’m glad I have her in my life and glad that we didn’t lose one another.

My mom too has pretty much given me most of my strength. I see myself as a strong person, but insecure at times. So when I was/am feeling insecure I turn to her and she just kicks me in the a$$ and tells me to “shut-up, you’re fine.” So, when I’m not around her I just hear her and, as Taylor Swift says, “Shake it Off.” (Don’t mind my Swift references. :)) But in all reality, These two individuals have been there for me when I needed them the most. Don’t think I haven’t forgot about all the other people who have helped me, believe me I love you all more than anything!!! And I don’t say that lightly.

I feel bigger things are coming and I am welcoming to anything that comes my way.

Thanks for reading and following me down the rabbit hole…<3

Something for writers.

N.L.W

Leave a Reply

